Recognizing public officials who champion the work of nonprofits

The Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Leadership Award was named in honor of the Center for Nonprofit Advancement’s former director of advocacy and community relations after her untimely passing in 2003. The award was created to highlight the work of elected and non-elected officials who have gone above and beyond in partnership with the nonprofit sector to ensure more vibrant communities.

Each year, the Center honors four public officials with this award. One official is recognized from each of the jurisdictions the Center supports including, the District of Columbia, Virginia, and Montgomery and Prince George’s counties.

Congratulations to our 2023 winners!

 District of Columbia: Janeese Lewis George

Janeese Lewis George, currently serving as Councilmember for Ward 4 in the Council of the District of Columbia, is a third-generation Washingtonian and native of Ward 4. She has a background in public service, working with notable figures such as the first African-American District Attorney in Philadelphia and DC Attorney General Karl A. Racine. Her dedication to juvenile justice reform is evident through her work in the Public Safety Division. Janeese is a member of the Washington Bar Association and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated.


Prince George’s County: Aisha Braveboy

Aisha N. Braveboy, currently the State's Attorney for Prince George's County, Maryland, previously served as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates. With a background in law, she has advocated for criminal justice reform, education, environmental protection, and gun control. Born in Washington, D.C., she graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park, and Howard University School of Law.


Montgomery County: Gabe Albornoz

Councilmember Gabe Albornoz, a lifelong Montgomery County resident and child of Chilean and Ecuadorian immigrants, has championed public service and social justice. Elected in 2018 and re-elected in 2022, he serves on the Education and Culture committee, prioritizing comprehensive support for youth and marginalized groups. His prior role as Director of the Montgomery County Department of Recreation reflects his dedication to community well-being and inclusive programs.


Virginia: Karla Bruce

Karla Bruce, the inaugural Chief Equity Officer for Fairfax County, Virginia, is acclaimed for her 25 years of groundbreaking work in local government, notably championing the One Fairfax Racial and Social Equity Resolution, fostering a more inclusive and just community. Her leadership garnered multiple awards, including the 2023 Katherine K. Hanley Public Service Award and the 2021 Ronald F. Kirby Award, reflecting her substantial impact.