The Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman EXCEL Award

The Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman Excellence in Chief Executive Leadership (EXCEL) Award recognizes and spotlights outstanding leadership among Washington-area nonprofit chief executives. The award recognizes leadership achievement in the areas of innovation, motivation, community building, ethical integrity, and strategic leadership. The selection process includes four stages; nomination, interview, site visit and selection. 

Up to three leaders are selected as EXCEL Awardees. The EXCEL Awardees will each receive a $5,000 professional development account to be used for the individual’s continued professional development.  In addition, each recipient’s organization will receive a $2,000 grant to support the professional development of the organization’s staff.

2018 is the fourteenth year for this competition, and the twelfth year that the Bethesda-based accounting firm Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman is sponsoring the award.

The competition is open to any chief executive of a Greater Washington-area nonprofit organization with an annual budget of $10 million and under. Board members, staff members, volunteers, clients or community members may nominate chief executives.

The CALL FOR NOMINATIONS for this year's award will begin on JUNE 1. Check back on that date for the nomination packet.

This award is a program of the Center for Nonprofit Advancement.

Meet our past winners:

2017: Erin Carlson Mast, President Lincoln's Cottage
          Natalia Marlow-Otero, DC SAFE
          Herb Tillery, College Success Foundation

2016: Christopher Fay of Homestretch
          Scott Jackson of Global Impact
          Laurie Strongin of HOPE for Henry

2015:   Michael Bobbitt of Adventure Theatre, MTC
             Nicole Lamoureux of National Association of Free & Charitable Clinics
             Kathy Sibert of Arlington Street People's Assistance Network (A-SPAN)

2014:   Michelle Asha Cooper of Institute for Higher Education Policy
             Bonnie Fogel of Imagination Stage
             Dr. Sylisa Lambert-Woodard of Pathway Homes, Inc.

2013:   Michele Booth Cole of Safe Shores
             Marla Lahat of Home Care Partners
             Judith Sandalow of Children's Law Center

2012:   Robert Goldman of Montgomery Housing Partnership
             Scott Schenkelberg of Miriam’s Kitchen
             Nina Smith of GoodWeave

2011:   Wendy Gradison, PRS, Inc.
             George Jones,Bread for the City
             Maya Enista Smith,

2010:   Scott Beale, Atlas Service Corps
             Michael Curtin, DC Central Kitchen
             Steven Park, Little Lights Urban Ministries

2009:   Manny Hidalgo, Latino Economic Development Corporation
             Pamela L. Michell, New Hope Housing, Inc.
             Eleni A. Rossides, Washington Tennis & Education Foundation

2008:   Karen Cleveland, Habitat for Humanity of Northern Virginia
             Linda Dunphy, Doorways for Women and Families
             Layli Miller-Muro, Tahirih Justice Center

2007:   Rino Aldrighetti, Pulmonary Hypertension Association
             Lynn Brantley, Capital Area Food Bank
             Mary Funke, N Street Village

2006:   Rhonda Buckley, Patricia M Sitar Center for the Arts
             Jonathan Smith, Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia
             Adam Tenner, Metro TeenAIDS

2005:   Jayne Park, Asian Pacific American Legal Resource Center

Thank you to our sponsor: