The Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman EXCEL Award Online Nomination

Members and nonmembers are invited to make a nomination, but you must be logged in to complete an application.

Email Taylor Strange to request a login.

Start a new application, or continue your in-progress application below.

Questions? Contact Taylor Strange.

The Gelman, Rosenberg and Freedman EXCEL Award

The Gelman, Rosenberg and Freedman EXCEL Award recognizes and spotlights outstanding leadership among Washington area nonprofit chief executives. The award recognizes leadership achievement in the areas of innovation, motivation, community building, ethical integrity and strategic leadership. Up to three people will be selected as 2015 EXCEL Awardees along with the opportunity for two people to be selected as honorable mention recipients.

Each winner will be given access to a $5,000 professional development account. The awardee’s organization will receive a $2,000 cash award to be used to support professional development programs for its staff. Each honorable mention recipient’s organization will receive a $1,000 award to support professional development programs for the candidate and/or its staff.

This award is administered by the Center for Nonprofit Advancement.

View the full nomination packet.

Eligibility Guidelines

The EXCEL Award is for a salaried, full-time (minimum 35 hours per week) chief executive of a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization based in the Washington metropolitan area. The geographic area is defined as the District of Columbia, Suburban Maryland (Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties) and Virginia.

The competition is open to any executive director, CEO, president or other chief salaried employee of a Washington-area nonprofit organization with an annual budget of under $10 million. 

Nominated individuals must have served as the chief executive in their current organization for a minimum of three years as of May 31, 2015. All examples and explanations used in the application must have occurred during the applicant’s tenure at the current organization. 

Any individual meeting these requirements may be nominated. There is no fee to participate.  Past EXCEL Award winners are ineligible for future EXCEL Award consideration.

Return to Award overview