2011 Board Leadership Award

2011 Board Leadership Award ShowcaseNearly 150 came together on November 2, 2011 for the Board Leadership Showcase, a celebration of outstanding board leadership among nonprofits throughout greater Washington.

During a cocktail reception honoring the five inaugural Board Leadership Award finalists, Greenbrier Learning Center and N Street Village were announced as winners of the 2011 Award. The Center also recognized Accokeek Foundation, Capital Partners for Education and Home Care Partners with Honorable Mention Awards.

This competitive award, in partnership with Reznick Group and BoardSource, recognizes the role that boards play in building and sustaining successful organizations by executing their fiduciary and leadership responsibilities—assuring that they are well led, well supported and responsive to the people and communities they serve.

“The Center's inaugural Board Leadership Award finalists emerged as the highest functioning among thousands of nonprofits in the greater Washington region,” said Center CEO Glen O’Gilvie. “Through this long competition they have been tenacious and transparent, sharing the ins and outs of their innovative strategies. We are proud to name N Street Village and Greenbrier Learning Center our 2011 Winners and look forward to motivating other organizations to replicate these great practices.”

As winners in the Award’s two categories, Greenbrier Learning Center and N Street Village each receive a $10,000 grant, communication exposure through print, radio, television and social media, and training and development opportunities for the board and CEO from BoardSource and through the Center’s Learning & Leadership Institute.

Each honorable mention recipient receives communication exposure through print, radio, television and social media, and training and development opportunities for the board and CEO from the Center’s Learning & Leadership Institute.

The award Selection Committee, made up of distinguished members of the business, philanthropic and nonprofit community, searched for examples of outstanding boards that have moved beyond recommended best practices to bring new levels of engagement and focus within the board that deliver results for the organization.

Finalists were selected through a three-step judging process including a comprehensive nomination form, in person interview with board members and the executive director, and a site visit/meeting attended by board members, the executive director and representatives from the community served.

N Street Village was the recipient of the Center’s The Washington Post 2006 Award for Excellence in Nonprofit Management. In 2007, former executive director Mary Funke was recognized with the Center’s Gelman, Rosenberg and Freedman EXCEL Award for excellence in chief executive leadership.

Home Care Partners was the recipient of Honorable Mention recognition for The Washington Post 2007 Award for Excellence in Nonprofit Management.

The Board Leadership Award was launched in 2011 by the Center for Nonprofit Advancement and is sponsored by Reznick Group and BoardSource.

Additional Resources:

About the Center for Nonprofit Advancement
The Center for Nonprofit Advancement strengthens the capacity of nonprofit organizations throughout Greater Washington, D.C.  The Center directly partners with nearly 1,000 nonprofits (our members) helping them achieve their missions through training and technical assistance programs, networking, advocacy and group buying power.

About Reznick Group
Reznick Group is ranked among the top 20 accounting firms in the United States, providing accounting, tax and business advisory services to clients in the nonprofit sector and other industries nationwide.

About BoardSource
BoardSource is dedicated to advancing the public good by building exceptional nonprofit boards and inspiring board service. BoardSource strives to support and promote excellence in board service, is the premier source of cutting-edge thinking and resources related to nonprofit boards, and engages and develops the next generation of board leaders.

Please join us in thanking our 2011 Selection Committee Members:

Karen Campbell, Vice President & Chief Policy Officer, Verizon

Christina Gattuso, Partner, Kilpatrick Townsend LLP

Angela Jones Hackley, Vice President, Community Foundation for the National Capital Region

Julienne C. Johnson, President and Founder, Front of the Bus Productions

Quinci Moody, Executive Director, Next Level Leadership & Capacity Building

Maureen K. Robinson

Marty Rodgers, Client Director, Accenture Health & Public Service

Bob Wittig, Jovid Foundation

Participating Members

Andrew Davis, Governance Consultant, BoardSource

Michela M. Perrone, Ph.D, President, MMP Associates/Faculty Georgetown Nonprofit Management Program

Anne E Schrantz, Principal, Reznick Group, P.C.

Vernetta Walker, Director of Consulting, BoardSource